Skip to content
Toggle Left Side Navigation

The Teachers College Honors Students at End of Year Banquet

May 3, 2019

Nearly 80 people were recognized at The Teachers College 35th Annual Honors Banquet held the evening of May 3.

Seventy-five students and four retiring members of the college received special recognition. Twenty-three received outstanding student awards and 52 students were honored for achievement of a 3.8 grade point average or higher.

Undergraduate and graduate students were honored for excellence in their respective departments. Nine students received outstanding undergraduate student awards and 14 students received outstanding graduate student awards.

The four retiring members of The Teachers College recognized included Dr. Ken Weaver, Dean of The Teachers College, and retiring faculty members Dr. James Costello, Dr. Deb Larson, and Dr. Nancy Smith.

The students honored included: 

Outstanding Undergraduate Awards

  • Athletic Training – Robert W. Lyles (North Newton)
  • Elementary Teacher Education – Olivia Jacoby (Andover)
  • Health Education – Alisha Henery (Emporia)
  • Health Promotion – Gabriela Amparan (Liberal)
  • Middle & Secondary Teacher Education – Kyler Akagi (Lawrence)
  • Physical Education – Mallory Case (Manhattan)
  • Psychology – Madison Orton (Wichita)
  • Recreation – Justin C. Broyles (Waverly)
  • Rehabilitation Services Education – Emily Henderson (Emporia)

Outstanding Graduate Awards

  • Art Therapy – Amy Huxtable (Ottawa)
  • Clinical Counseling – Timothy Aspleaf (Overland Park)
  • Clinical Psychology – Anna Wray (Wichita)
  • Counselor Education Dual Degree – Kimberly Nguyen (Oklahoma City, OK)
  • Curriculum & Instruction – Aaron Dean (Leawood)
  • Educational Administration – Brandi Mitchell (Emporia)
  • Health, Physical Education & Recreation – Antonio Diaz Perez (Emporia)
  • Industrial/Organizational Psychology – Alexandria Klema (Windsor, CO)
  • Instructional Specialist: Reading Specialist – Lynelle Johnson (Olathe)
  • Instructional Design & Technology – Misty Taylor (Wchita)
  • Master of Education in Teaching – Anthony Lane (Andale)
  • School Psychology –Emily K. Schoenfeld (Topeka)
  • Special Education/Gifted, Talented & Creative – Quin Showalter (Shawnee)
  • Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages – Alyssa Reed (Goddard)

Research Awards

The 2019 Undergraduate Research Award went to Theodore J. Wheeler, Olathe, KS, for his research project titled, “Undergraduate Leadership Training, Justification of Action, and Perceptions of Self-Morality.” Wheeler is majoring in Psychology and Sociology and the faculty sponsor for his research project was Dr. Cathy Grover.

The 2019 Graduate Research Award went to Joshua S. Key, Nassau, Bahamas, for his research project titled, “Learning Analytics and Student Success: Ensuring all Learners Have a Chance at Success.” Key is a graduate student in the Department of Instructional Design and Technology. The faculty sponsor for his research project was Dr. Dabae Lee. 

Honored Students

The following 52 undergraduate students were recognized for a cumulative grade point average of 3.8 or higher.

These students are due to graduate or have graduated in December 2018, May 2019 or August 2019:

  • Lakeville, MN – Lori Ahuja
  • Kansas:
    • Allen – Christianne Parks
    • Andover – Olivia Jacoby
    • Assaria – Paige Droge
    • Augusta – Megan Garr
    • Baldwin City – Madison Rickey
    • Basehor – Abraham Ruffcorn
    • Bennington – Jenna Gantenbein
    • Clay Center – Audrey Keim
    • Colby– DanielleFoster
    • Cottonwood Falls– EmmaGriem
    • Derby– AnnaMahoney
    • Emporia– KaylaAyer,AubreyKlaassen,XinweiLiu, PaigeNurnberg, ShelbyPedersen, Rylie Sebring, HannahTurner
    • Goddard– AbigailGarcia
    • Haysville– MadisonTaylor
    • Hillsboro– AllisonWeber
    • Holton– KyrstieMiller
    • Kansas City– HannahBaughman
    • Lakeville– LoriAhuja
    • Leawood – Jennifer Foster
    • Lebo – Alexa Thomas
    • Lenexa – Kyler Akagi
    • Louisburg – Wyatt Sander
    • Olathe – Breanna Koehn, Judith Rowden, Ashley Weigand, Alexandria Zuel
    • Olpe – Krista Vogts
    • Osawatomie – Amanda Crouch
    • Ottawa – Amanda Leadbetter
    • Overland Park – Megan Frakes, Shayna Towle
    • Saint Marys – Maria Moylan
    • Shawnee – Aaron Geise
    • Silver Lake – Ashley Womack
    • Spring Hill – Hailey Hilgendorf
    • Sterling – Henry Weiner
    • Tonganoxie – Bonnie Monahan
    • Towanda – Anita Hinnen
    • Wichita – Madison Daily, Brett Gile, Kelsey Graber, Shelby Marten, Holly Miles, Madison Orton, Paul Reichenberger, Ashton Taylor

Honored Faculty

The individuals recognized for their service to the university as they retire this year were: 

  • Dr. James Costello, Associate Professor - Counselor Education
  • Dr. Deborah Larson, Associate Professor - Elementary Education, Early Childhood, and Special Education
  • Dr. Nancy Smith, Professor - Elementary Education, Early Childhood, and Special Education
  • Dr. Ken Weaver, Dean of The Teachers College, was awarded a special proclamation from President Allison Garrett for his outstanding contribution to ESU.



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site