Scholarships are available to ESU students majoring in the programs in the Department of Social Sciences, including History, Political Science, Geography and Social Sciences Education. Scholarship applications are generally due in mid-February and must include a recommendation form from a faculty member in the department. The forms are available in the department office (Plumb Hall 411) or by clicking here.

The following scholarships are available most years, depending on funding allocations. 

Guy Buzzard Memorial Scholarship

Guy Buzzard was a professor of geography and head of the Division of Social Sciences at Kansas State Teachers College in the early- to mid-20th century. He was faculty sponsor of the geography club, and although not much else is known about him, he was a supporter of geography education and at the time of his death, his family established this memorial scholarship.

  • Specific Criteria: The recipient must be a full-time undergraduate student at ESU majoring in one of the social sciences disciplines, with an interest in geography.

Dr. Edward Flenjte Endowed Scholarship

Dr. Ed Flentje is an alumnus of Kansas State Teachers College who earned a Bachelor of Science in Education with teaching fields in math and physical sciences (1964). He earned an MA in government at George Washington University in 1965 and a Ph.D. in Political Science at the University of Kansas in 1970. He began teaching at Wichita State University in 1979 in the Hugo Wall School of Public Administration, which he directed from 1999-2008. He was interim president of ESU in 2011, and served in a number of state offices since 1975. He is married to Marla Flentje, a senior consultant in human resources in a private firm in Wichita.

  • Specific Criteria: The scholarship is $1,000 annually, awarded to a junior or senior undergraduate student majoring in political science with an emphasis on American politics.

Earl Raymond and Hazel Travis Fraysier Memorial Scholarship

The Fraysier Scholarship alternates annually between a student majoring in Modern Languages or in History.

  • Specific Criteria: The scholarship is awarded to a full-time freshman.

Dr. Edwin Charles Moreland Memorial Scholarship

Dr. Moreland was a professor in the Department of Social Sciences from 1965 to 1996.  He hosted the Foreign and Domestic Affairs Conference and the Model UN, working with students and faculty across campus and across disciplines. He and his wife, Hazel Moreland, believed strongly in the importance of higher education and wanted to provide financial support for educational opportunities to ESU students.

  • Specific Criteria: The scholarship will go to a Kansas resident who has a minimum GPA of 3.0, is a junior or senior student in one of the social sciences disciplines and who exhibits financial need.

William F. Phillips and Vernita Rich Memorial Scholarship

The Vernita Rich Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in 1963 by her husband. It was renamed the William F. Phillips and Vernita Rich Memorial Scholarship after the death of Bill Phillips, who was Mrs. Rich’s cousin. She graduated from Kansas State Teachers College in 1935, and earned a Master’s Degree in special education from KSTC in 1954. Bill Phillips also graduated from KSTC with a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in geography, then earned his Ph.D. in geography at the University of Kansas. He was a geography professor at ESU from 1969 to 1999, when he retired.

  • Specific Criteria: The scholarship is awarded to a full-time undergraduate student with a minimum GPA of 3.50, who is majoring in a social sciences discipline or special education.

Captain Rives Scholarship

Established by Robert and Priscilla Rives of Wichita in honor of Captain Robert Rives.

  • Specific Criteria: Student must be specializing in archival work. 

Donald and Marguerite Shepherd Scholarship*

  • Specific Criteria: Student must be a sophomore majoring in history or a junior pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Education with a major in Social Sciences; must have an overall GPA of 3.0 and a 3.5 GPA in the course work for the major. Seven scholarships of $1,000 each will be awarded.
 *Please note that this Shepherd scholarship is different from the university-wide Hershel and Augusta Shepherd scholarship.